Making an electric power pac for tractor splitter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

AndyMoore

Nov 22, 2023
Canada
Hi newbie here. Currently have a Splitfire 18 tonne 2 way splitter run off tractor hydraulics.. Has a 3.5"x 24" cylinder. Run tractor about 1500 rpm so guessing around that 10-12 gpm flow (tractor pump around 20gpm at 2200). Want to split inside a barn so looking to make a hydraulic power pac to run the splitter. Currently have a 5hp leeson TEFC motor @1750 RPM I'd like to use. I'd have to use a couple of right sized pulleys to run a 3600 16gpm 2 stage pump. Think this would work? Other option is to buy a 5hp compressor c face type motor rated at 20-23 amps and mount pump directly to motor. Is either option enough motor to run the pump or should I go to a 11 or 13 gpm pump. I did read somewhere of someone going to make one using a 5 hp 1750 motor running a 28 gpm pump but don't know if this would work. I do want a fast cycle time like I currently have with the splitter run off the tractor (about a 6-8 cycle time). Thanks

How about 2 long extension hoses with quick disconnects. Run the tractor outside, split inside.

Reactions: salecker
Keep in mind that the two stage pump is 16 gpm (or whatever its rated at) but at a maximum of 600 psi (or whatever the cut over relief is set at). Then it's more like 2-3 gpm up to the 3500 psi or whatever the relief is set for).

So you don't need the power to push 16 gpm at 3500 psi. 600 psi @ 16 gpm needs 5.8 hp, 3500 psi @ 2 gpm needs 4 hp.