Mice in wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

ejbailey

Feb 19, 2022
Monroe, CT
I’m starting to build up my 2/3yr supply of wood and I was wondering what everyone does to limit mice in their wood. This year I had my wood on three pallets, and placed a bait station at one end where I could refill it when needed. Is there a better way? I don’t want my yard to be a mouse sanctuary.

Single rows off the ground. No poison. The snakes, local cats, hawks, and fox will manage your vermin issues. Unless you kill the all with the poison.

...don't always work.
i've been storing firewood for 35 years and farm/barn cats frequent my yard and wood pile yet i still find nests two to three feet up deep inside the cords.
i'll see cats fight over "camp" spots atop the wood piles, on the nearby fence, all jockeying for the ultimate mouse position...

i have given up... lost my will to combat them.

I don't have a problem with mice, I find nests in my wood piles but the mice are usually long gone by the time I'm bringing the wood in

Seal your home so they don't come in, and leave nature outside be nature.