Mid Winter Update

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Zack R

Feeling the Heat
Sep 27, 2017
Sisters, OR
flic.kr
Its been a mild winter compared to last and I'm pleased to say that my fear of running out of wood will go unfounded. I started with five cords of wood (all pine) and have at least two left to finish out the winter. The recently mild temps have shaved my wood usage in a big way.

This is my first year with the wood stove and I've been very impressed with not only the ambiance and comfort it provides but the electricity savings as well. Never before would I lounge around wearing a t shirt in 75F temperatures when it was 20F outside.

I received an email from my Honeywell thermostat this morning showing the furnace run times and its a stark difference compared to last January. I almost never run the furnace these days, and when I do its because we are out of town. On the coldest months last year the electric bill was around $300. Now I'm barely breaking the $100 mark and thats with my wife and little one home during the day using more lights, etc..

upload_2018-2-9_9-9-19.png

Last edited by a moderator:
My experience is extremely similar to yours. After the winter I vowed that I would put in a wood stove in. Purchased and had it installed at the end of October 2017. From the first time I fired up the wood stove that night till now, I have not needed to use the Central heat at all. Looking at energy bills from last year, I've calculated that the energy savings will repay the initial wood stove purchase/installation in approximately 2 years!