1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Moisture Meter

Post in 'The Gear' started by gangsplatt, Jun 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gangsplatt

gangsplatt New Member

Loc:
    Plattsburgh, NY

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. BrotherBart

BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I have been using the yellow one for three years or so. Works fine for me.
  3. Vic99

Vic99 Minister of Fire

Loc:
    MA, Suburb of Lowell
    Ditto on the yellow centech. Very satisfied. The only thing, I found it took 3 weeks to ship . . . which may not matter this time of the year.

I would recommend 2 pins over 4, much easier to get the pins in since we're not talkin about finished wood. Drill holes, don't try to jam the pins in.
  4. N/A N/A

N/A N/A New Member

Check ebay as well. Just bought a two pin alot like the four pin on your thread for $19 + $7 shipping. Tried it out yesterday and seams to work great.
  5. Jags

Jags Moderate Moderator Staff Member

Loc:
    Northern IL
    Yep, the yellow one is on year 2 for me as well. Never a problem, except the cheap chinese battery died quickly.
  6. abj1969

abj1969 Member

Loc:
    S.Jersey
  7. granpajohn

granpajohn Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Central Maryland
    So many have that yellow meter. I happened to find one at HF yesterday, (and bought it of course), but I don't think it's working.

The manual says to test it by shorting the pins with metal, thus resulting in the bottom LED lighting (while pressing the low side button). I can't get it to do anything in this situation.

I tried it on several different woods, and some actually showed some activity, always on the low side. The high (16-35%) has never lit for anything.

The 9v battery checks to 10v.