My 1st chimney fire?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

shub

Nov 4, 2011
Southern Maine
Well, I may have had a chimney fire today.

I am new to wood stoves. I just got my Jotul F3 CB installed, coming up on a month ago soon. In preparation for it's installation, I had a Selkirk Class A double wall installed.

Here's what happened. Let me just confess for starters, that I did two stupid things. Then, I'll explain what happened further.

1. While spring cleaning, I broke down a pallet in my backyard, and decided I was going to burn it. Aside from the fact the wood is the furthest thing from seasoned hardwood, I took it a step further by choosing to burn it even after it amounted to a bunch of shim sized splinters during dismantling. I believe this would be considered a "kindling fire", and from what I have read, you do not want those to fill your firebox (but that hadn't stopped me.)

2. I opened the ash door to get it going, since it was wet and I wanted to dry it out fast. But to make matters worse, I left it open too long (around 3 minutes...)