My Experiment With "Big Box" Pellets versus the more expensive "premium" pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Enigma869

Feeling the Heat
Aug 27, 2011
Massachusetts
Good Morning All...

I'm still fairly new to the pellet game. This is my second season with my Harman Accentra insert. I wanted the P68, simply because I live a fairly large home (3100 square feet) and I knew the Accentra is a bit undersized, in comparison to the P68. That said, it came down to aesthetics for both my wife and I. We both thought the Accentra insert looked a whole lot better than the P68. Not to mention, there wasn't a need to lose a corner of our family room to accommodate the P68. I also don't care for the mirrored glass on the P68 (still not sure why Harman did that). I do believe Harman's numbers on the square footage their stoves will heat is VERY conservative. 98% of the winter, my main floor about 70 or 71 degrees (anything warmer than that, and it would simply be far too warm for me) and the upstairs bedrooms are 68 degrees (also plenty warm enough for sleeping). I believe Harman says the Accentra insert is rated for about 1400 square feet. My home is only 10 years old, and well insulated with higher quality Andersen windows and doors throughout, so I'm sure that helps some. It is sort of interesting to me that there is almost no price difference between the Accentra insert and the P68, given that the P68 is much higher in the BTU department.