My Stihl 025 confusing me.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Lcback

Feeling the Heat
Feb 21, 2016
Pennsylvania
So if you have paid attention to my posts you know I'm pretty new to small engines. And being a young family most of my stuff is hand-me-downs. So as great as that is it certainly has its share of frustration.
To my point. My old stihl 025 ( the old ms250) locked up on me this week. I put a new chain on and was ripping through a nice cherry blow down when it just seized.

Today I tore into it. But I didn't get far. I took the spark plug out, then the pull string. The fly wheel wasn't turning by hand. I put a socket on the flywheel hoping to break that bolt loose without a plug. Sure enough the engine started moving. Felt stiff at first, but it loosened up fast. I put everything back on and pulled it fired on the third pull like usual. It runs and screams like there was no problem. Now I haven't put the bar and chain on to try cutting more yet. Any ideas what's up? Should I be ordering a new engine anyway? My dad seems to think maybe with these pre-measured 50:1 oils from stihl I May have used more then one gallon of gas. It is a 1.3 gallon can so I guess it's possible.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

Reactions: Lloyd the redneck
Something was jammed inside the clutch maybe? I'd take the clutch cover off and make sure nothing is rattling around in there.

If the engine siezed I would not expect everything to be fine when you got back.

Wouldn't hurt to start giving it a little more oil, though.

Reactions: Lcback