My three types of stacking methods and which seems to work best

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kennyp2339

Minister of Fire
Feb 16, 2014
I've been collecting firewood for many years, the typical thing I do is cut logs then split them up right away, all wood gets stacked either wet or green.
I built a bunch of strait single row wood racks out of 2x4's I could hold nearly 5 cords total, the dimension's are 4.5ft high x 12ft long, I liked that style but the main issue us that the stacks tend to shift as the shrink, I would end up having to restack some of the rows due to tip overs, the pro with them is that the wood would be exposed and dry out fairly good, I would top cover with heavy mill plastic and an electric stapler.
IMG_0622.JPG
My second main type of stack is 14 pallets, all together in a double wide row, holds nearly 7 cords, it was a great way to stack, I didn't have to worry about tip overs, I would simply top cover and let it go, 3 years later I'm moving this stack onto the driveway.
The cons - the stack was way to thick in depth, I've got wet wood in the middle, especially were the tarp had a hole, also this stack became a wild life center to ground hogs, mice and snakes. Ground hog holes underneath the pallets, mouse nests all over, and snake skins everywhere.
5-13-14 021.JPG iphone 4s pics 8-16-15 207.JPG