Need Advice: 2-story family room (MT Vernon AE Insert)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rubin

Apr 28, 2010
Reading, PA
Hello All,

I'm new to pellet stoves. I've searched this board and I've read about 10-pages of threads in this forum and can't seem to find an answer to my questions. So, here it goes . . .

I'm very close to pulling the trigger on a Quadra-Fire MT Vernon AE Insert. It would replace my Mickey-Mouse propane "fireplace" in my 2-story family room. My home is a 2,800 sq. ft. colonial that's 7-1/2 years old. We use our 500-gallon propane tank to heat the house, the water, and to cook with. In the last 12-months I've spent $2,700 on propane and it doesn't look like it's going down any time soon.

I've researched wood pellet stoves enough to think they're really awesome and quite economical. However, I have (2) major concerns that I need help with:

1) Will all/most of the precious hot air simply rise upstairs where the 4-bedrooms are and not keep thing toasty on the first floor? During the day we spend most of our time in the kitchen and family room.

2) How do I "integrate" the new stove with my existing propane furnace? I want them to complement each other, not fight. I'm looking for a sizable reduction in my annual propane bill.

Note: I've heard about running my furnace’s blower to move the warm area throughout the house. Also, I've been told a fan placed upstairs, overlooking the family room, would solve the problem.

Bottom line: i don't want to spend thousands of dollars and only get a pretty fireplace.