need help i think

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

harvdog31

Hearth Supporter
Dec 3, 2010
virginia
Im a newb and had a question concerning how my wood boiler just got hooked up to my existing oil boiler. He connected the incoming hot to the bottom drain of the oil boiler and the return water where the relief is on top of the oil boiler. The diagram for central has the hot going in the top of the existing boiler. Is this ok?

Returns usually go to bottom and supply out the top. So if he was hooking it up in series that would be correct. Or should line added to the top be located somewhere else ? For example from the zones back to the WB then to the OB and to the zones.
The loop would be WB supply to OB return OB supply to zones & zones back to WB return ?

Better question . . . .(s)

Why do people in Virginia need central heat?

Why do people still buy from CB?

LOL, anyway, welcome to this joint :) Hang around and contribute once you get the bugs worked outa ya system.

haha well im in the blue ridge mountains and its gets pretty cold. got the cb used really cheap and oil is waaaayyyyy too expensive. The house also has no insulation in walls. ill try to post pictures.

harvdog31 said:
Im a newb and had a question concerning how my wood boiler just got hooked up to my existing oil boiler. He connected the incoming hot to the bottom drain of the oil boiler and the return water where the relief is on top of the oil boiler. The diagram for central has the hot going in the top of the existing boiler. Is this ok?