1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Need Seasoned Wood Long Island NY Smithtown /Commack area

Post in 'The Wood Shed' started by WIT Performance, Dec 7, 2012.

1. WIT Performance

WIT Performance New Member

Has anyone gotten seasoned wood recently on LI NY. Getting my insert next week and didn't prepare any wood. Also I'm new to inspecting wood for dryness should I purchase a moisture meter and is there any other tips for determining how dry wood is thanks -Rob

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. mywaynow

mywaynow Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Northeast
    Get a moisture meter and a hatchet. Split the wood and check the middle for moisture levels.
  3. WIT Performance

will do, what should good dry wood read?
  4. WellSeasoned

WellSeasoned Guest

Good dry wood should read under 25%
  5. WIT Performance

6. Boom Stick

Boom Stick Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    Capital Region, NY
    Under 25%? I would be looking for 20%. If you are looking to guy you'll be paying a premium and I would be inspecting a bunch of splits .......that I picked out of the pile!
  7. Doing The Dixie Eyed Hustle

Doing The Dixie Eyed Hustle Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Ridge, LI, NY
    hard to find seasoned firewood here now.

If you like, PM me, and I can set you up so you have firewood ready for next year.
  8. XJma

XJma Member

Loc:
    MA
    Get what you can and also buy a bunch of pressed sawdust bricks as they will help you be able to burn not-so-seasoned firewood. Get as much wood as you can now and continue to do so, that way you can have good seasoned wood for next year.