Need some information on wood furnaces

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wendell

Minister of Fire
Jan 29, 2008
NE Iowa
I am considering switching from a woodstove to a furnace but have no idea where to even start researching. Where can I learn what my options are and what would be needed for install (distance from chimney, size, ducting, etc.)?

Obviously here is a great place to start. Another good one that is broken down by manufacturer is http://www.outdoorwoodfurnaceinfo.com/forum/

I think that most makes are represented here, I have a Woodmaster 4400 and love it. Heating a 4400 sq ft, 100 yo farm house in north central Indiana, no windbreak, r-19 in the walls r-38 in attic. I use 10-15 cords per year running an upstairs furnace, a downstairs furnace, and dhw.

Mine is 5 years old, the only issue that I have had is I had to replace my draft fan. Boiler sits about 50' from the house with pex in the ground at 48"

Please describe your current fossil heating system so that we can give you ideas...

http://dhs.wi.gov/eh/HlthHaz/fs/waterstoves.htm
Be cautious about installing an OWB. Read the above from your state. More and more states are regulating these stoves and in some states even current owners must alter their systems to comply.

Considering the inefficiency of the design and cost of OWB boilers, you are better off installing a gasification boiler.