needing upgrade

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

onetracker

Minister of Fire
Aug 11, 2011
rondout valley ny
from my ms290.

i am not a professional...i don't need, nor could i afford, a $900 saw.

as soon as i put an aggressive chain on the 290, it clearly didn't have the mojo to get thru large green oak.

thinking around 60cc. ...maybe under $500 if possible.

i'm asking for your help and experience....if you prefer husky, i'd really appreciate your thoughts on that as well.

onetracker said:
from my ms290.

as soon as i put an aggressive chain on the 290, it clearly didn't have the mojo to get thru large green oak.

i'm asking for your help and experience....if you prefer husky, i'd really appreciate your thoughts on that as well.

Pick up a used 361. I got mine for $300 and love it.

Home Depot: Makita 6401. Boringly dependable Dolmar in blue... $250-300 if you are lucky enough to get a rental saw. I called every store around my area and got a saw in great condition with a new bar and chain for $300.

If no joy there I'd go to the saw shop and see what they had. Sometimes good saws get hurt and are replaced because folks 'need it now'...

Good luck!
Mike

60cc's is not a big junp when your already at 55cc's. I would look at the 70cc used pro saws.

+1 on looking for clean used pro saws.

Stihl 034, 036, MS361 are all great saws.

Husky 357XP, 346XP, Some older ones around too. the XP saws are generally good.

New saws at about $500,

Check out the Stihl MS311. Some dealers may have a MS390 around. Same chassis as your 290 but a lot more motor.