New Buck Stove Model 21 Install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Wiredllama

Oct 24, 2022
Southwestern PA
I just finished up the install on a new buck stove 21 insert. The shape of my existing fireplace requires the insert to stick out a little from the face of the fireplace. I couldn’t bend the flex liner enough to attach directly to the stove. The 30 degree elbow allowed me to make the connection. As I am new to this, I just wanted to throw a photo on here and see if any one sees any problems with my connection and set up.

I’ve learned a ton by perusing this site for the past few months while planning and, purchasing, and installing. Thank you all! Hoping to fire it up this weekend for the first time.
653E0120-9107-4F92-9B09-B65DFD62791B.jpeg

Reactions: PAbeech
Nice clean install. It looks good there.

Is this an exterior wall fireplace and if yes, did a block-off plate get put in?

I did not make one yet but I have ceramic insulation in the cavity for now

Chimney is internal.
For an interior chimney may be sufficient. Try it and see.

Well unfortunately it seems I have some major draft problems. Smokes and smolders forever. Takes a long time to get started. I cant even crack open the door without smoke coming out of the flex pipe connection and when I open the door even further smoke just rolls out the door opening. Chimney is 15’ and I even scrapped on an extra 3’ temporary piece at the top to see if that made any difference. Nothing. Very frustrated.