new guy stopping by

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

burningforyou

Aug 18, 2013
se mi
Hello everyone, I'm new to the stove market, but definitely not new to burning as I'm a stationary engineer by trade. I was looking into an insert for out ZC superior. I soon realized that it would be better to go with a free standing stove. The plan is to demo the old zc and create an alcove out of the old chase. The old chase runs in my garage on the other side so my alcove size can really be any size. The house is a mid 90's built Victorian style with roughly 2500 sqft total (1400 main floor, 1100 second level). We have a large ceiling fan in the open foyer to pull heat upstairs. I have a few questions and i'll list them for easy answering. My plan is to go with something similar to geardoc and cwill's installs

1. Since my area that I plan to install in will be 8'HX5'WX3'D is this still considered an alcove? Most manufactures specify height is the issue.

2. In regards to getting the heat out of the alcove would it beneficial to slope the ceiling or blower in the ceiling behind a grate to roll the heat into the room?

3. I've been researching brands, But I keep coming to this point either they explicitly state alcove clearances, and some don't make mention at all. Which stove companies are alcove friendly and doesn't force a dealer network on the consumer?