New Honda Pilot - Any car experts out there?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

GrumpyDad

Minister of Fire
Feb 23, 2022
Champion, PA
I am by no means an expert, more of an enthusiast. That's being said, I work on all my cars unless I need to drop a gas tank. That I wont do. I even do some body repair, and of course paintless dent repair as well as paint corrections etc. Call it 'for fun' or just because I get to say "I saved $1k" (then immediately proceed to blow it on something else).

We have a Honda Pilot that is used as a family vehicle when we all pile in and need to go somewhere. It's a 2014, has 150k miles on it, and has taken us on many adventures. We opted for the touring package to get the nav unit and the rear entertainment system for the kids at the time. Unfortunately this also comes with larger wheels and lower profile tires.

The issue I have with it, is that it is absolutely the worst and most terrifying vehicle to drive through the hills when there are unsalted roads. All seasons, studless winter tires - it doesnt matter. If I go beyond 5 mph down a hill with this thing, the ABS goes nuts and the vehicle just slides. If I were to do 10mph and try to brake we would be spinning down the hill picking up speed...which is even more terrifying. Ive had the vehicle checked multiple times, no issues.