New house, back draft question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

djlew

Nov 3, 2023
New Jersey
Wow, never thought I would see myself on the cat stove side of hearth! All jokes aside, brother and sister-in-law just bought a new house that came with a stove. Definitely a Hearthstone stove, but not sure about model. Maybe some type of Green Mountain I thought?

Anyway, we went to light an inaugural fire today and instantly got hit with a massive back draft. I'm new to cat stoves, but I figured the cat needed to be inactive and the air open when lighting. Once the cat got to to the silver area of the cat thermostat, engage. Then just adjust the air intake as necessary.

I attached some pics of the setup. Please let me know if more would be helpful. The stove got hot, smoke was exiting the stack pretty well, but no matter when we tried to reload, BOOM back draft.

Stove was apparently rarely used. My immediate thought was a combo of quality of wood and inspection of the flue. I still recommend that, but is there anything else we could be missing? Just wanted to get some opinions from folks who have the same stove.

Thanks again all!

1000003742.jpg 1000003741.jpg 1000003743.jpg

Did something change that created negative pressure in that area? This could be a kitchen or bath exhaust fan, clothes dryer, gas/oil HW heater, furnace or boiler starting up.
Next time if it happens, open a nearby window 1/2" to see if that cures the problem.If so, an outside air supply (OAK) may be needed.