New Installation questions - is this right?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

kenwhelan

Oct 20, 2022
Springdale, AR
I have been struggling getting an install done, Really don't like what the installer has done. There is only about 2-2.5" of clearance to from the top of the stove to the brick in the fireplace. Barely enough room to get the stove in place. I know very little about this process this is my first time through an install.

So all through the process the guy is complaining that it is so tight he can't get the pipe hooked up and then he packs black goo all around it. . . A sealant of some sort not sure what. He's supposedly done with this process but if I stick a flashlight pointing straight up in the stove, I can see light coming through where the vent pipe mates with the stove.

I go read the instructions and there is specific instructions on how to handle a tight fit. So this is what they show.

2022-10-20_08-35-35.png

That requires it to be done prior to putting the stove in the hole and then dropping the inner collar down into the stove and screwing it down.

This is what it looks like from the inside.

2022-10-20_13-34-16.png2022-10-20_08-32-12.png

Notice how parts of the pipe are on the inside of the ring and parts are on the outside of the ring. I don't see how it is possible for him to get a good seal on this without pulling the stove and doing this using the alternative method due to clearance issues.

I will post pictures of the top of the stove later this evening.

Would appreciate some opinions on how I should proceed.