New non-cat stove questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MichaelS

Nov 4, 2006
Southwest Missori
I am new to using a new technology stove and have some concerns. Is there suppose to be a firebox full of flames at the top even with the air dampered down to about an 1/8 or 1/4 open? Should you hear air sucking into the unit through the intake? I am kinda nervous being able to see the fire through the window, was anyone else like this when they first started burning? Thanks Michael

Sounds like good secondary combustion Michael. You'll find a lot of folks are concerned with odd noises, smells and sights with their first burns. But we'd be able to give you more guidance with more particulars regarding the stove make and model.

Thanks for the quick reply. The stove is a Century FW 300010 Plate steel stove connected to a tile lined masonary chimney 8x8 square. The chimney is 15 feet.

It's probably fine. How much wood did you have in the stove?

The stove will get some secondary air even with the primary air closed down. The flames at the top of the firebox are the gases being burned up. Better than heading up the chimney, eh?

Do you have a stove thermometer? Knowing the temperature that the stove is running at is a good guide towards how it is burning. If not, pick one up at the local hardware store. They're about $10-15 usually.