New Quadra-Fire Explorer 2 install, seems like too much fresh air and/or draft. Any options?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

echap

Nov 21, 2018
Grand Rapids, MI
I am new to woodstoves, although when I grew up, my parents had one. So total newb here.

My wife and I built a cabin in Northern Lower Michigan this year and installed a new Quadrafire Explorer 2. Luckily, I am not new to firewood as I have always tried to have awesome campfire wood, and as such have a bunch of Oak (seasoned for 4-5 years, stored indoors last 6 months) and Ash (seasoned a year and cut from standing dead due to Ash Bore’s. All the bark had fallen off, so it’s super clean wood). I have also been reading here for at least a year when I was planning, so I know good, dry wood is key which I believe that I have one hand. This stove will be our main heat source, but we do have electric baseboard to keep cabin from freezing as we live downstate and won’t be there except on the weekends and maybe week between Christmas and New Year’s.

Have had a few fires now as it’s been cooling off, but man this thing really burns with a ton of fresh air. I used a duravent pipe straight up thru roof, with a 30-degree offset to get behind the roof ridge. Total flue pipe is about 16-17’. The fire burns great, and the logs have completely burned down, but it seems like there is just a ton of fresh air even with the lever at the min. I have not really loaded it up as it’s not been that cold, but with this much fresh air, there is no way I can see that it would last thru the night.