New to the site

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Touch0Gray

Feb 8, 2020
Wi
I am new to the site but hardly new to wood butchery and heating, I have been heating almost exclusively with wood for well over 35 years now. I live in the middle of a 40 acre mixed hardwood stand, 15 are mine. I have been using a majestic insert which I built a stone hearth and surround for (6 feet wide 3 feet deep and 10 feet tall with the masonry chimney running up the center, about a 30,000 pound thermal mass. I virtually never cut a live tree and prefer red elm, barkless. I use Stihl saws and used an old home built splitter for over 30 years until a week ago. I recently purchased a chainsaw "sawmill" and have some slabs air drying, we will see how that works out. As I go, I will post more.

I love it! 30,000 pounds of thermal mass.
When I built the addition onto my log cabin I seriously thought about doing the same for my new wood stove install. However, is is on a framed subfloor, so I would have had to seriously reinforce that floor to do a serious masonry surround. I decided to skip it.

I do have the thermal mass effect on my fireplace pictured at left. This fireplace, which I built, is entirely inside the house so that, the back wall of the fireplace is the inside wall of the bathroom.
If I run the fireplace for 5 hours, on a 32 degree night, the heat will radiate out, and keep the house warm for 24 hours.
But, of course, being a fireplace it uses 5 times as much wood as the wood stove does in the addition.