New to wood burning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cottageaddict

Dec 6, 2015
Quebec
Hello All! I am new to burning as a source of heat. Took the plung after we built our pre-fab cottage on the same foundation as an older cottage was built. It came with an Old wood stove, quite small which
I kept reloading wood all the time due to small firebox. The stove in in the basement , with a 24' chimeny directly outside.

Once we got our 1st electric energy bill, I nearly pasted out! So I ´snapped' and did my research and narrowed it down to the Regency F3500 so far. I like the look big window, clean lines and technology of the catalytic Stove. Does anyone hear own one? What can I expect from this stove if my only source of heat to be wood burning. I have little to no experience with this, so any tips you can provide will help! Thanks do much! Mike

Hey addict welcome , could you give a rough drawing of the layout of house it will help the guys & gals to help you out.your basement is finished i hope otherwise about 50% of your heat is going to get sucked into the basement walls,if everything is insulated well and you heat 24/7 the heat will eventually rise up through house but it won't be as warm as the basement.you will also need dry wood around 15 to 20% the epa stoves live for dry wood.i assume being a cottage you have two floors if so it will be very hard to get heat up to second floor.

image.jpeg