New wood insert - go with small or medium?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

glennsj

Sep 14, 2008
VA
Newbie here - sorry if this is the 100th time for this question but I couldn't find it in a couple searches I tried.

Looking to get a wood insert to supplement gas heat. House is about 3,000+ sq ft and we live in VA. One dealer is saying anything but a small is going to cook us out of the room and claims a medium or medium large you can't burn a smaller fire, or can't do it efficiently. We have friends with a medium and they were skeptical of the dealer's claim.

Our living room is 10 x 25 with flush fireplace mid-way down 25' wall. Ceiling slopes from 9' on fireplace wall to 13' on far wall. Off the end of room is stairwell up to bedrooms. The couch sits across from the fireplace. Plan to get a floor fan and just point it up at the 13' wall to help the hot air up the stairwell. Incidentally there is a cold air return for the furnace up there as well.

So is the dealer right that a medium is going to blast us out of the room?
Can a medium or medium large insert be used in such a way to generate less heat or do they just not work that way?

For the small we were shown a Lopi Answer, for the mediums we were shown Regency H1300, 12400.

Thanks
Glenn

Depending on how open the floor plan is, and how much you plan to heat. You may even be able to go large.
As far as the small, the dealer is full of Sheet! And you can burn clean efficient smaller fires in larger stoves. I do it here during the shoulder seasons.