Newb here...should I install this in place of my pellet stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tjdd

Hearth Supporter
Sep 8, 2009
No Cali
Hello all. I am a complete newb to this forum, and will be a new wood burner as well. I am soooo completely tired of buying pellets (when I can find them), and am dying to switch my pellet stove over to a wood burner. I have a large amount of wood available to be cut and split, and won't have to pay the outrageous pellet prices.

I recently purchased an old wood stove made by Sweet Home Stove Works. It is a Noble Fir model built in 1984. I have searched all over the internet to try and get any helpful info I can on this unit, with no luck. All of the latches and handles were rusted closed; but overall, it looks to be in decent shape. I have freed all moveable parts (with the help of a generous soaking of oil) and plan on repainting the entire stove.

My question is this: Am I wasting my time with this stove or will it be an effective upgrade from my pellet stove? I do not want to spend globs of money. I am trying to use the most economical means to heat my house this winter and thought I would give this a shot.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Winter is coming and I don't want to be left in the cold! Thanks.

Great advice, thank you. In fact, I bet I already know what the outcome of this will be. Glad I didn't install it yet. Insurance companies can be a hassle sometimes.