Newbie here....looking for an insert and wanted to see if anyone had thoughts/ideas on the new......

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jimmylucas

Hearth Supporter
Oct 28, 2010
N Wisconson
Harman 300i insert. I spoke to a dealer this weekend and he said they are new this year and really couldn't tell me much about them. Anyone here have any experience/knowledge on these?

Harman 300i

Features
„„FireDome Combustion System
„„8-17 hour burn times
„„Very steady heat output
„„Large 3 cu. ft. capacity firebox
„„Up to 20 inch logs
„„Harman quality, fit & finish
„„(2)120 cfm blowers, standard

well, the insert is based on the TL300 free stander, and that was based on the TL200 that they made for a long time. The TL300 fs is a good unit, big. aside from the fancy "firedome" its a pretty straight forward machine. dont have the insert in the shop yet, but i expect it to be well constructed....and heavy, lol.

So the TL 300 is a decent stove. I see both advertise the "8-17 hr burn time"; that's a huge range. What's a realistic burn time with seasoned oak on this stove?

Welcome to the forums! My stove has a similar design and requires a bit more of a learning curve than some. My concern would be that this technology is better suited to a freestanding stove than an insert.

I would ask the dealer these questions:
- Does the Firedome need periodic cleaning/maintenance, and is it easily accessible?
- What is the expected lifespan and replacement cost of the Firedome?