Newbie here. Oak question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dlmrun2002

Feb 23, 2014
New York Country
Hey all. Happy to join this forum. Been a burnin man for a long long time. I recently got some oak(from my neighbor) Tree was about 2 1/2 - 3 feet at base. Tree was dropped almost 3 years ago. BY FAR the heaviest and toughest wood I split. And I have split oak trees over 3 feet at the base. It has been covered since fall and it will only burn if I have a large bed of hot coals or if I open up the air vents almost full. Makes Hickory look line Pine. Any experience's like this? I wish it would burn a little more regular like my other woods (Cherry,maple,locust). Looking forward to this awesome wood forum and responses.
Doug M ny country

Sadly, oak takes a long time to dry.

Being cut off the stump for 3 years doesn't really do squat for drying. Had that wood been cut, split, and stacked 3 years ago, you would have some premium fuel on your hands.

Sorry to say, but your wood is not seasoned and has too much moisture in it yet.

Sadly, oak takes a long time to dry.

Being cut off the stump for 3 years doesn't really do squat for drying. Had that wood been cut, split, and stacked 3 years ago, you would have some premium fuel on your hands.

Sorry to say, but your wood is not seasoned and has too much moisture in it yet.

So how much more time does it need to season well? I have about a chord left at this point and have no problem stacking it on the side to wait a year or two.. Thanks for the reply..
dlm ny country