Newbie here, Wood boiler installers/dealers in CT?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

brider

Jun 13, 2008
New Haven, CT
I just stumbled upon this great forum today, in my search for in-home wod boiler installers. I live in CT, and the local heating/AC contractors almost laught when I ask if they have ever installed a wood (TARM,EKP)-fired boiler.

I'd like to research installing one in-line with my existing oil burner; I know this is an old question, but does anyone know of a dealer/installer in CT?

Thanks!

Hi I just joined too. (like 90 seconds ago). I ordered a TARM EXCEL 2000 last weekend from Preston Trading Post. I'll take delevery in August so I have no idea yet on performance. Hope I made the right choice. I haven't looked for anyone to install it, but looking at the piping layouts I think I can install it myself. I just topped off the oil tank at $4.38/gal. Hopefully that will be the last time.

I'll keep you posted.

Greg H

Preston Trading Post? Are they a distributor, or dealer? Do they have a showroom? Where are they!!!

How did you decide on the Tarm? Availability?

I am VERY glad you responded to me, I and another guy here in Orange, CT are also fed up with the $4+ cost of oil, and figure the route you've chosen is the way to go.

Are you going to install it in-line with your existing oil burner?

Yes, there is already a water storage tank attached to the existing oil-fired boiler, I was thinking of installing a woodburner in-line somehow.