Newbie with a Jotul F 45...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SuperKing

Apr 18, 2016
Pennsy
Hello all, I'm new here. I'm also quite new to wood stoves.

I had a Jotul F 45 Greenville installed by a certified local company back in the beginning of February. The stove is great, loving every minute of it!

However, I have a question I have not found an answer to just yet...

After using the stove, particularly after an overnight burn, I notice little reflective strands and/or minuscule shards perhaps a centimeter or less in length on the surface of the stove. Usually around and above the door.

In the morning light, when I first open the door after an overnight burn to shovel ash and rake the remaining coals forward, I can see these small reflective strands exit the stove. It isn't a plume of them, just a few glinting in the sunlight coming through the window.

What are they? Are they from the door gasket material? Some other such material in the stove? Are they hazardous?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Reactions: CASEMAN2011
Hmmmm....

I'm getting a lot of down-drafting, odors, and smoke spillage. I know my set-up isn't ideal, and was wondering if anyone else with a similar set-up experiences these problems. How did you guys remedy the situation?

Here it is:

20160315_153837.jpg 20160315_154250.jpg

Also, I've narrowed those "reflective strands" I mentioned in the original post down to being shed by either the ceramic fiber blanket in the top of the stove or the door gasket.