Newbie with Outdoor Wood Furnace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CHRanch2015

Feb 9, 2016
Illinois
Hello everyone, I'm new to wood heat. Next winter will be my first wood heat winter. I have done alot of homework on Outdoor Wood boilers and had decided that's what I wanted to go with but finances were making it tough to make happen. I came across what I think is a really good deal on an outdoor forced air furnace instead, has its own blower and what not, paid $250 bucks for it, not the prettiest bit appears to be solid.
My question since I'm not familiar with the furnaces is how do I hook up the duct from the furnace to my existing ductwork in the house so it will circulate through my ductwork, I would like to leave my current furnace in place as a backup so all's I have to do is turn it on if the need arises. Any help would be greatly appreciated.