Newbie with stove and hearth questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jonbass40

Sep 20, 2014
Illinois
I'm new to wood stoves and to heating with wood in general. We have an 1900sqft farm house to heat and the propane bills are getting to be a killer. We've been looking at the nc30. Is that a good stove for a beginning wood burner? Both me and my wife work during the day, is this something I can get started and leave unattended for 8hrs or is that not possible? We would like to try and heat as much as possible with a woodstove.

My other dilemma is where to locate it in my living room, I've got room in both the corner and a side wall. Either location will require an outdoor chimney install. I've attached some pictures of trying to lay it out based on the stove requirements.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    166.4 KB · Views: 154
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    190.7 KB · Views: 154
Welcome to the forum!