Newbie wondering about system length.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fire_n_Stories

Sep 2, 2015
Colorado
Hello all,
I am a newbie woodburner, as a result of having just purchased a 430sq ft cabin at about 8,800 ft in Colorado. I was given a Trailblazer with a 6in flue, and am struggling to put together what I read was the minimum system length of 15 ft. I am guessing that this minimum is related to the hot air having enough time to cool before exiting the chimney top, but am not sure. My cabin has 7ft ceilings at the highest, and about 5.5ft at the slope drop against the wall.

I just purchased all the parts for the system, including a 4ft chimney, but that puts the length at only about 11ft long, from the top of the stove, and maybe 13ft from the floor.. Buying a chimney that was longer seemed sorta ridiculous, but maybe I was just being nutty about it? Any advice or explanation of why this length is so important/necessary would be much appreciated.

Its all about draft for the stove. From what i have learned on the forum myself. Not sure but i think higher elevation works against you so a taller chimney would be needed. if the instructions are confusing i would suggets checking out you tube videos of installs. If its not your cup of tea then get a buddy to help or a pro to do it.