Newp

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
. So I'm not too far from the newp factory in deposit ny. Do they sell direct? Newp are decent aren't they? I'm also not terribly far from the barefoot plant in Troy pa. Just not sure what to get. The local true value has Lignetics. I have no idea what's at depot or lowes...not sure how to tell what brand us actually in the bag. I'm a noob when it comes to brands. I think I'm just going to Start buying 10 bags at a time this year till I can gauge how much I'm going to need. Any advice is greatfully accepted==c.

All I have burned is Somersets and Pro Pellets. Both were very good but I favor the Sets over the Pros just a little. You need to see which brands are available in your area. I'd just call around to places that sell them and ask which brand they have. Then search for reviews on them here.

There are some to stay away from and others that are great. Price per ton is also a factor. Call places like Tractor Supply Co, HD, Lowe's, any other agri businesses and local hardware stores or feed and seed places.

I think people here like Lignetics but I'd check. It really all depends on which brands are available in your area. Figure out your options and prices for each and go from there.

Reactions: Kennyz
If I had a choice between NEWP's and Barefoot's having used both, I'd choose Barefoot's every time. Doesn't mean NEWP's won't keep you warm but you'll be cleaning a little more often and for me, Barefoot's put out more heat into the room.