1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

No heat from fire

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by jennywren, Nov 9, 2013.

1. jennywren

jennywren New Member

Loc:
    devon uk
    Hi Guys,

I have an open fire but of late im not getting much heat from it, (yes im a newbie to open fires) The fire has been swept so I am assuming it is the logs or coal that im using, - would this make a difference, any advise would be greatly appreciated,. Also the fire cement on the back of the fire has been removed as it was cracked and to be replaced (sweep said it was safe to use fire until it is done) so would that help reflect the heat?

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. Beer Belly

Beer Belly Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Connecticut
    From what I'm reading, you have an open Fireplace ???.A fireback would help in this situation, I wouldn't expect a lot of heat from an open Fireplace as most of the heat is going up and out the chimney. In my experience, you'll get localized heating, but the rest of the house will be cold.
  3. Oregon aloha

Oregon aloha Member

Loc:
    Willamette Valley and the coast
    An open fire looks great, but I have never known it to give out much heat. If your thermal mass around your fire gets warm you can enjoy some warmth from that, but if you are trying to heat the room you would be better off with a wood stove or insert.
    I don't know if the repairs would help with heating, but if it is a outside wall chimney then it would help to keep the cold out.
  4. Sprinter

Sprinter Minister of Fire

Loc:
    SW Washington