Non Cat vs. Cat wood usage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tcassavaugh

Minister of Fire
Jan 10, 2010
Southern Maryland
Hey Guys, I’ve been burning wood for over 15 years in this house, most of it with a VC/Dutchwest cat stove. To take advantage of the tax credits and get a bigger box, I got a PE Summit last year. It took some getting used to but eventually it all came together and it burned pretty good. The same goes this year, its burning good; in fact too good. I seem to be going through wood at a much quicker rate with this stove than the cat stove. I keep it about mid range of teh best burn area, using a thermometer on the pipe. So, I'm not letting it runaway and go up the pipe. In fact sometimes it burns a bit too slow and i get a bunch of coals....which is another gripe...but back to my question.

Is that a trait of the new EPA approved non cat stoves or is it just a figment of my imagination. I would normally go through about 3 cords but I used a little extra last year after getting the Summit. So, this year I got 4 cords up and I’m almost already half way through that bunch of wood. I’ll certainly have go get to the woods soon and see if I can find some standing dead wood or blow downs. I just thought I’d ask and see if anyone else has run into this phenomenon? I have the cat stove sitting in the corner with an almost brand new combustor in it and have come real close to putting it back in swapping out the Summit.
Thanks in advance for your insights.

cass