Noob firewood seller questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

DonTee

Minister of Fire
Dec 1, 2021
Upstate NY
I’ve been cutting firewood for myself and my family for quite a few years now. This is the first year I’ve sold wood to people outside of my family. I have a few questions.

First of all I want to say that the wood I’m selling is all ash. It was C/S/S last fall (2022). Internal moisture tests on a freshly split piece show around 18% Mc.

The wood has been stored outside uncovered. That’s not an issue during the drying season, but right now it’s taking turns raining and snowing. The wood stays wet longer, and more importantly, it’s damp on the exterior when I go to sell it.

My own burning routine involves taking the wood from my woodshed to porch (where it sits for a week), and then inside the house to another rack (where it usually sits a few days) before being burned. So any exterior dampness is gone. Do people who buy wood expect to take it home and burn it that day? It makes me nervous that someone will try that and then say my wood isn’t seasoned.

The other firewood sellers around here are selling from big uncovered piles mostly. And the pics they show on their firewood ads are obviously from summer. The trees still have leaves on them, and the firewood actually looks dry.

So should I try to cover the wood and let it dry out as much as possible before selling it? Or assume that other people have similar burning habits to my own, and are not going to try and take this wood and burn it the same day?