1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Normally funky smelly oak.................

Post in 'The Wood Shed' started by Howard M Emerson, Oct 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Howard M Emerson

Howard M Emerson New Member

..............was smelling very different yesterday as I was splitting it.

I've been a woodworker for a very long time, and as far back as I can remember red oak always seems to have this particular funky smell, whether I'm working it kiln dried for cabinetry, or splitting logs.

However, yesterday, I noticed that it had this smell of some sort of alcohol.............Almost as if it were fermenting. I got the wood, along with a bunch of black locust, on Sunday. It had been cut and stacked this past March if that time frame is meaningful.

Any clues as to what's going on?

HE

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. savageactor7

savageactor7 Minister of Fire

Loc:
    CNY
    Could just be one of the 'freak of nature' things Howard. Where are you posting from maybe someone else here ran into the same thing.
  3. Howard M Emerson

Howard M Emerson New Member

I'm in Huntington Station, NY on Long Island.

As a matter of fact we passed by a very large yard on Jericho Tpke yesterday afternoon that sells firewood, wood chips, totem poles, horse riding lessons, etc.

I was telling my wife, at that moment, about the oak I'd been splitting earlier in the day, and all of a sudden this same smell came wafting through the car!

Don't you love when that happens?

:)

HE
  4. Corey

Corey Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Midwest