now that I have a pellet stove my basement is cold

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

splash

Jul 12, 2008
western ma
I hope you can help. I have been burning pellets for 4 years on the main floor of my 2 story house. Since I had my house insulated last year, the pellets heat both floors. BUT now that my gas furnace isn't running, my basement is cold. I need suggestions on what to do about a cold basement. It got cold enough last winter that a couple of house plants died but my pipes didn't freeze. I have a thermometer down there this winter to check on the temp. How can I heat it? I don't use my basement except for a little storage. It is brick foundation and I was thinking about getting a really small pellet stove and installing to use it as necessary to heat the basement but that would be expensive to set up. Any other suggestions? Thank you.

splash said: