Odd creosote ooze coming out of bottom of chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

BlueRidgeMark

Feeling the Heat
Oct 8, 2015
Virginia
Hi, folks,

I have a Grandpa Bear Fisher with a top exit. I've been heating my home with it for about 12 years. It's oversized for our house, so we run it damped down. I burn dry hardwood seasoned (usually) 2 years, and mostly oak.

But still, with it closed down we do build up quite a bit of creosote. I deal with it by running a brush through it from time to time, and the occasional hotter fire.

About a week ago, I woke to the smell of burned wood in the house. I got up to check and found a blob of black stuff oozing out of the bottom of the chimney where it meets the stove. The stovepipe sits outside the collar of the stove. I'd say there was maybe a cup of this stuff running down across the stove. I cleaned it up thoroughly, and went to bed. In the morning there was just a tiny bit more that hadn't gotten very far.

We had had some rain, but I have a stainless steel cap on top that usually does a good job of keeping the rain out. In the past, my creosote buildup has always been dry, hard stuff on the inside of the pipe. I have never seen this wet ooze before in my life. It hasn't happened since either.

Any ideas? Why the liquid ooze, and why now? Have others seen this?