OK guys, school the newbie on how to burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mrfjsf

Sep 29, 2010
Wash. Pa
Bear with me here guys and gals,I am new to woodburning stoves. Specifically EPA stoves. I just had mine installed a few months ago and ive had around 6 burns in her so far. I just cant seem to figure out how she wants to burn. Maybe I just dont know what a proper burn looks like.

Most of my fires are cold starts for now. Will probably be like that for another year until I get out of school and working full time also and can get home at a decent hour once in a while. I want you all to critique my process and give me pointers to help get the best burn I can.

Anyhow, my procedure thus far has been:

Cold start with two medium splits on bottom two to three smaller splits atop and kindling atop that. Run that WIDE open for 20 mins roughly, then back it down to med-high to high. (any less, it tends to smoulder). I let that burn down to coals ( I like the cycle burning) then add around 4 or 5 splits (trying to fill her up or at least 3/4 full), let that catch and burn for 15 mins roughly, then bback down to med-high for another 15 mins, then back down to med-low for 15-25 mins, then down as low as she can go.

By this time burn tubes are lighting up pretty good and stove seems very hot. (I dont have a therm yet, I hope to order one next week.) Depending on the amount of hardwood I have inside, determines how long my burn tubes are burning. If I have a full load of hardwood, I have just a few coals next morn.