1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Old stove, Older house

Post in 'Vermont Castings & CDW Dutchwest older Models' started by pilfro, Nov 8, 2012.

1. pilfro

pilfro New Member

Hello Im new to wood stoves,

We bought a small (1700')1890s farmhouse back in April which had a fireplace and wood stove using the same flu, we couldn't insure it with both and the previous owners ran insert from wood stove out bypassing fireplace. We weren't sure how often we would use the wood stove, but after heating the whole house through a NorEaster this week we have become obsessed with getting more wood!

I'm trying to learn as much as I can about the stove. It seems to eat wood pretty quickly. The stove is a Vigilant bought in 1982, anyone have any advice on how to keep wood burning longer but remain hot? Right now if its running between 500-600 it seems to heat the house very well. Wood is seasoned and dry. It has a damper, but I haven't really noticed the stove getting hotter with it closed. Im also not sure on how much wood I should be burning at once, not sure if there is any safety issues with adding too much wood so my fires might be a little on the small side.

Last night with the lights off I noticed a small opening where the pipe connects to the collar on the back side, maybe enough to fit three pieces of paper in. Have CO2 near stove not sure if I need to seal this off.

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. defiant3

defiant3 Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    No. NH
    Available somewhere on this site is a link to owner's manuals for older Vig.s. It is very informative, and should answer all these questions and more. You'll find many have experience w/these guys, and they can be great heaters, but may need some attention. Happy heating!
  3. BrowningBAR

BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

Loc: