Optimum flue temps

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jadm

Hearth Supporter
Dec 31, 2007
colorado
I know I've read this somewhere but can't find it when I need it..

When taking a reading off of the flue at what temp. am I burning off creosote from my start up and then maintaining a burn that is as clean as possible.

My question excludes temps that indicate a chimney fire ......

It's been said that the optimum flue temp is in teh 300- 350* range. I'm still a noob so I can't confirm this as I get nervous if it gets over 250*. But the fella at The Firebird, the distributor for my stove, saysnot to worry, everything should be hot and to relax, but I tend to be cautous because I'm playing with fire..................

I always run my stack temp (as measured 18-24" above the stove) above 250. At reload time with a large wood load on hot coals it can push toward 500-600 for a while. These could be general guidelines for you. However, each setup will run a little different. I use my stove top gauge and the stove pipe gauge to better understand and correlate what is happening in the firebox. There are clues there that let you know that you are getting a clean burn. Do a search in the archives to better understand them. Some keywords would be clean glass, secondary burn, secondary tube color, and etc.

Thanks for the response. I just looked around on old threads and found out more about what I don't know.