Osburn hybrid 45 not providing much heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Eminor

Dec 20, 2016
Nh
I have been running an Osburn hybrid 45 for several years to heat my house. When I first got the stove years ago the temperature was in the 80's-90's in the room the stove is located. This kept the rest of the house (upstairs) in the high 60's low 70's. I have recently been running into H1 errors often and I am unable to run the stove any higher than level 1. I know this often has to do with the heat exchange working efficiently. With this there is a relatively low output of heat into the house. Any suggestions on cleaning methods to improve the heat output?

Welcome to the forum! Other than meticulous cleaning of the internal exhaust passageways or sluggish blowers, you may want to check the high limit switches (there are 2). They do weaken over time due to the heat and may not be functioning properly. You can do a temporary bypass around the switches to rule them out. Since it is a safety item, you should not run it that way. Always unplug when working in the cabinet.

Thank you! I am really a novice at working on the stove. I have taken apart as much as I can to clean. I have vacuumed as much as I can get to. Do the baffles need to be vacuumed on the inside? Anyone had similar issues with this model? I cannot seem to find YouTube videos about my stove.