1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Out goes the Heatilator. In goes

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by JRJ, Oct 8, 2013.

  1. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    45,828
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Yup, need to know the stove before proceeding. Different stoves have different alcove requirements.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    Actually believe the Osburn 2300 will be the one
  3. aansorge

    aansorge Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    634
    Loc:
    Southern Minnesota
    It does have a recommended flue size of 6 vs. your 8. I don't know if this is a big deal (I think going the other way is the problem, 8 to 6).
  4. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    I believe this is the worst job ever. Mice dens, their poop, wasps at the damper. I'M sure I could go on but such a relief to get this monstrosity of a turd out of the house! Now the fun begins. Get rid of all the insulation and seal up the floor is next...any idea's? )

    Attached Files:

  5. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    45,828
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Wear a good dust mask.

    The Osburn 2300 manual is not their best effort, I find their reduced clearances graphics confusing and lacking important dimensions. It quotes the reductions for a non-UL stove, but seems to imply that is is ok for the 2300. I would call Osburn for clarification.For an alcove installation it is very important to be sure that all clearances are met of exceeded.

    Note however that it does say: Floor to ceiling height must be at least 7' (84") in all cases.
    JRJ likes this.
  6. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    I'm stumped on what to do up here. Radius or no?

    Attached Files:

  7. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    As far as insulation goes, what do you use behind the durarock in the chase?
  8. Joful

    Joful Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,891
    Loc:
    Philadelphia
  9. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    A little more progress. We are having some beautiful weather this time o year! )

    Attached Files:

  10. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    18' of poo

    Attached Files:

  11. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    45,828
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Have you called Osburn to establish the minimum ceiling height requirement for the 2300 in an alcove? Normally this is 84" (7').
  12. RockyMtnHigh

    RockyMtnHigh Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Loc:
    Colorado
    I'm so proud of you for ripping that piece of Heatilator out! I've seen so many people do awful butcher jobs trying to fit an insert into one of those.... I know I'm kind of a dork but I'd do a massive alcove if I were working with a ceiling that tall, and a brick arch at the top.... I'm drooling, I'll stop now.
  13. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    Thanks for the kind words. I have over 7' to top of radius. I want to put in my OAK now. Any suggestions?
  14. aansorge

    aansorge Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    634
    Loc:
    Southern Minnesota
    Get a hole saw for your drill....like this....[​IMG]
  15. aansorge

    aansorge Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    634
    Loc:
    Southern Minnesota
    I used flexible drier tubing (the metal kind!) and a drier outlet.
  16. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    Ok going to town tomorrow to get the stove and pipe. Should I insulate the entire chase ? How many supports within the chase for 16' of pipe? Would there be a problem going through the floor for the OAK? Thanks oh wise ones ! )
  17. RockyMtnHigh

    RockyMtnHigh Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Loc:
    Colorado
    We usually avoid OAK unless they are truly needed. We have our reasons but it is mostly due to altitude here. I've seen aluminum flex melt here in an OAK due to a fire getting low and pressure issues happening, even Mark at Jotul said not to use one unless absolutely needed. That aside. Your support box will hold the entire chimney system as long as you support it on 4 sides, even if it was 30' tall. The bigger deal with that is making sure you have a firestop at the suggested levels according to the manufacturer of your Class A system. Also, it is good to do what your chimney manufacturer system says but relying on the installation instructions that come with your particular stove is important as well. Doing the safer bet between the two within specs or better is preferred.
  18. aansorge

    aansorge Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    634
    Loc:
    Southern Minnesota
    He lives in Iowa...get an OAK.
  19. RockyMtnHigh

    RockyMtnHigh Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Loc:
    Colorado
    My bad.....
  20. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    One step closer! I have to extend my hearth out another foot or so....so says my destructions. I have 9' of Class A up above the support but have realized that this is a two man job..

    Attached Files:

  21. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    Think I need a guy up high while feeding the pipe up to him. Wow this pipe is heavy

    Attached Files:

  22. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    Any input? )

    Attached Files:

  23. RockyMtnHigh

    RockyMtnHigh Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    251
    Loc:
    Colorado
    Class A chimney is heavy, you're lucky you aren't using 7" Security pipe for a Montecito Estate. That said yes, get another hand. I would also extend that chimney a minimum of 2' above the chase although I'm pretty sure 3' is code for almost any class A chimney. Keep going, you are doing a great job.
  24. JRJ

    JRJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    Thanks Rocky. I appreciate the kind words. I hope the weather holds out. I probably won't get much work done now til next wknd.
  25. Sails

    Sails New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Georgia
    Thanks for sharing the pictures can't wait to see it done

Share This Page