Over drafted with really high flu temps

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FlightMedic32

Sep 7, 2015
Toledo Ohio
This is my first year burning wood and I have a daka add on furnace. This furnace mandates a Baro damper, and up until two nights ago, I eye balled it on a windy day to walk around with the draft.

For the last month I have been burning on and off due to warmer temps and lows just in the 30s. I have a double wall pipe that goes into a masonry, teracota lined 25' chimney. My flue temps have been a nice 800 on start up and then 400 for my extended burn times. Thought I had it all down.. Until 2 nights ago

2 nights ago the temps got down to 15. At 9pm I went to reload, filled the box all the way up, opened up the intake all the way to get everything hot. When I came back 20mins later to start dialing down I noticed an odd smell. I checked the flue temps and it was 1100. I checked the Baro damper, it wasn't moving now at all, I opened it up manually and the little bit of creosote on the disk was burning off. I then watched the temps go up to 1500, then 2000. The pipe began heat smoking. I turned the air control all the way off and held the damper open. everything outside looked normal. I changed my pants, and went back down stairs to start over. I turned the air controller back open, and within 5mins the temps were back over 1k. I started adjusted the damper out quite a bit and ran it the rest of the night w/o any problems.