Pacific Energy owners / Insert Owners

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

f700

Jan 8, 2008
New Hampshire
I am new to the stove market and am looking for advice. The room I want to put my stove in is 576 sq ft. It has 12 foot ceilings and is attached to the main house which is 1800 sq. ft. The opening to the house is about 4 ft wide. I am looking at either the Jotul Castine or the Oslo. Question, do you think the Oslo will be to big? I don't want the family room to be a sauna. At this point, I am not looking for this as a primary heat source, but with oil prices, it maybe some day. Thoughts or other recommendations for stoves?

I am looking for opinions on the Pacific Energy Pacific Insert. My real questions are, how well does it really heat. Does it meat the claims as far as heating the specified square footage? Or if you did this, do you wish you put a free standing stove in instead. With the advice I have received so far on this forum, the insert is the easiest as I can put it into my ZC fireplace. I know if I go the stove route I have to run all new Class A 2100 degree chimmney and redo my heart (which isn't a problem) but I am looking to get the most efficient use of the wood. If I go stove route, I am going Jotul Oslo. Opinions....thoughts?