"Papa Bear" Restoration Advice for newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fisher newbie

Mar 7, 2016
Texas
Howdy,
I'm new to wood burning stoves, but have always wanted one. Two days ago I aquired a 1979 fisher Papa Bear at what I hope was a good deal ($100), in what seems to me to be in good shape (pictures below). It has two broken bricks and two whole ones that fell off the wall which I will fix shortly.

I have been browsing the forum for a few days trying to get to know what my interest in stoves was getting me in to and really appreciate the knowledge and community participation. I have gleamed plenty of information/ideas/how too from the multitude of posts.

What I am looking to start is a single thread which can put as many restoration tips in one thread as possible, anything you can think someone in my shoes might need to know or find useful. If this already exist I appologise. Please direct me to it? I know there are a lot of answers scattered around the forum and have found some, but thought everyone could benefit from a succinct restoration thread.

As for my Papa Bear VI;
I have already fixed the hinge pins (which were frozen and bent), unfroze the 5 fin vents, and fired it up for the first time in 21 years. I'm way too excited about this stove.