Partially insulating a liner and ditch the chimney cap?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ikessky

Minister of Fire
Sep 2, 2008
Northern WI
I installed a 6" 316ti SS liner in my interior clay liner chimney only because I have no prior knowledge of what happened to it previously (it's an older house that I purchased). A visual inspection didn't yield anything alarming and I had several people tell me that the liner wasn't necessary and if it was their's, they would just use the chimney. Being the cautious person that I am, I decided to re-line it anyway as it was fairly cheap insurance. The interior dimension of the clay liner slightly under 7"x7" so I could not fit insulation wrap. The draft on the chimeny is excellent and I have no problem starting fires, keeping them going, etc. Lately I've been thinking about the supposed dead air space I currently have between my liner and the original clay flue. I'm going to stuff some insulation into the clean out in my basement, but would it also be benificial to get some kaowool and stuff it around the liner directly underneath the top plate? My thought is that the top plate is probably a great source of heat lose and that any insulation I can add to that area would be beneficial.

The next question is, does anyone run a SS liner and not use a chimney cap? I'm a 24/7 burner, so I don't think anything would come down the chimney any time this winter. I'm seeing that the cap is a great place for condensation to occur and then I get dirty icicles and stains on the masonary from the condensation dripping off the cap.