Pellet Furnace - new guy questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

freeloader

Hello everyone!
I am new to pellet stoves and pellet furnaces but I am very interested in adding a pellet furnace to my home as a 'backup furnace'. In doing a bit of research i came across this forum and decided to join. Thank you everyone for being apart of the forum and contributing.
Currently I have been focusing on adding a more economical plan for heating my (approx) 1500 sq ft home. I am currently an oil burner with forced air and I am interested in adding a pellet furnace to my heating system. I had looked at some of the manufactures and read a few reviews and feel like I have a slight grasp but have created many questions. So here goes;

1. Does anyone currently use a pellet furnace as an alternative furnace to there main furnace to reduce there heating costs? Do you like your pellet furnace? Would you consider it a wise investment and why?

2. Does anyone currently use an "Optional hot water loop kit for pre-heating domestic water"? I found this as an option with fully detailed instructions for the connections on a PSG Caddy Alterna (owners manual - http://www.sunburst-sales.com/PDFs/PSGCaddyAlterna.pdf). Here is the web page containing the pdf for the optional hot water loop - http://www.psg-distribution.com/instructions-sheets.aspx?CategoId=28.