pellet quality

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wwww

Jan 4, 2009
Western Wisconsin
Wondering if anyone is burning 'Nature's Fuel' pellets. They seem to create a lot of ash but I am a rookie with pellet stoves and maybe don't know if they are or not.

I have a P68 with the auger set at 4 and I seem to get a lot of ash build-up on both sides of the burn pot. Additionally that ash build up is not loose but kind of hard and pumice like. Does anyone have any ideas about what's happening in this situation and if it's anything to be concerned about? That buildup happens at a higher rate too.

thanks

I can't speak for "Natures Fuel" pellets, but what you describe for the ash sounds normal. How much ash you get is pellet dependant. The best thing to do would be to experiment with trying different pellets brands until you find a brand and pellet type that works best with your stove and settings.

I just started burning the Forrest's Pride($6.00 per bag) myself this week that I found at Walmart and my god are they great!!...really...they are much better than any other brand INCLUDING PINNACLE!!..go figure..
your results sound typical of all the brands I've tried so far so don't be discouraged...the pellet quality this year IMO has gone done the proverbial crapper this year..but these FP's are standing tall and burning clean
I'm lucky here where I live that I can goto the local HD or TSC or Ace or Wallymart or local heating stores and pick up all different brands of pellets..I'd say Ive tried atleast 8-10 different brands with all the same results