Pellet Stove vs. Wood stove installation...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Warm_in_NH

Minister of Fire
Dec 17, 2013
central NH or N.E. CT.
I'm a carpenter, it's my trade. I've installed two chimney's for myself over the past three years for wood stoves. Double wall, to the through the wall kit, then up the outside with Stainless, done.

We've got a basement finishing job on the books for the near future and the owner (who is also a friend of mine) is wanting a pellet stove installed in the basement. He wants to "do it himself" with my help.

I found both installs I did to be pretty straight forward, with great instructions provided by Selkirk, can expect the same ease of installation with the exhaust system for a pellet stove? Seems like it should be easier with a smaller pipe.

Anyone familiar with both, that you can give me a quick comparison?

The stoves are inherently different in how they operate.
Wood stove operates under a vacuum produced by the heated flue.
Pellet stoves have a fan that pushes air through the flue.
This makes leakage at connections much more critical on pellet stoves. This is why the sections are sealed together with silicone o-rings and/or high temp RTV silicone sealant.
Pellet pipe is typically smaller and is double-walled. Most pellet stoves use 3" pipe or 4" pipe (the larger for longer flues or higher elevations).
Pellet pipe is much more expensive.
Pellet pipe is double-walled so clearances to combustible will differ from single wall wood stove pipe.

Reactions: Warm_in_NH
Pellet pipe is much more expensive.